Harvest Bisque

Today was a perfect day to cuddle up with a blanket, lay on the couch, and watch old movies! We had some intense thunderstorms which, made me crave something hearty, and this Harvest Bisque hit the spot!

Ingredients you’ll need:

  • 1-2 Tbsp butter
  • 3-4 bacon strips, chopped
  •  2 celery ribs, chopped
  • 2-3 carrots, chopped
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 4 medium sized gold potatoes, roughly peeled and diced into cubes
  • 1/2 tsp of dried thyme
  • 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 or 2 bay leaves
  • Canned or Fresh Sweet Corn
  • 1 cup of heavy whipping cream
  • salt and pepper

 

 

img_2479

I’m all ready to start chopping my bacon, I get my knife out and snap…I just broke the handle..clearly I don’t know my own strength. So let’s start over! In a large pot or dutch oven,over medium heat,melt the butter and your chopped bacon. Cook and drain SOME of the fat.

img_2485

While that’s cooking dice and chop your onion, garlic, celery, and carrots. Throw everyone into the pot with the bacon and remaining bacon fat. Add your dried thyme and let the flavors fill the air. I love the smell of thyme! Continue to cook for 5-7 minutes or until the carrots are tender.

img_2487

Go ahead and start peeling and dicing those potatoes! I like to leave a little skin on mine so I roughly peel them. I choose Yukon Golds because I love the yellow color and I think they add more depth to the bisque. After you finish throw them in the pot with the rest of the veggies and bacon.

img_2491

Now comes the fun part! Once you’ve added your potatoes measure out your chicken stock and water. Pour them in and add your bay leaves. As you see I added 1 1/2 bay leaves. Bring to a boil then cook on low for about 25-30 minutes or until the potatoes are tender. Look at that color!! Starting to smell and look like Fall!

After the potatoes are tender you are ready to add the corn. I usually have fresh corn either in my freezer or fridge but today I didn’t..all I had was canned…which worked out perfectly! So I added 2 cans of corn and continued to cook on low for another 8-10 minutes.

We’re getting closer to eating I promise! Let’s continue by taking HALF of the bisque and pureeing it so we get a thick and creamy texture. This will help thicken everything. Put the puree back into the pot and add your heavy cream. The heavy cream is the cherry on top!! It’s what makes you coming back for more!!

Finally, let it sit and cool for a bit (it’s steaming hot and I’ve burned my tongue because I was too impatient). You are now ready to EAT!!!

My fiance likes to add TONS of pepper to his bowl so I suggest adding a pinch of salt and some pepper just to round out the flavors. It actually does make a difference!

 

img_2493

Let me know if you decide to make this at home and what you think! Did you add or change anything? If you have any questions feel free to ask!

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

