Sausage Peppers and Onions Sandwich

I love to cook just about as much as I love to eat, and 9 times out of 10 when you find me on the couch I’m watching the Food Network Channel. Is it bad that when I’m eating lunch I’m already thinking about Dinner? And when I’m eating dinner I’m thinking about Dessert. It’s a never ending cycle but like I said, I love food!

So, when I came across this recipe, courteous of one of my all time favorite chefs Giada De Laurentiis, I thought I’d give it a try! Most of the time I stick with the recipes my mom and grandma’s have taught me because they are AMAZING, but I love to research new recipes and try them out. Plus, I have a couple of great taste testers my husband and of course Corn, who is only on the taste tester roster because my husband thinks he deserves a few bites.

It’s so easy to make and is probably one of the best sandwiches I’ve EVER ate!

 

Ingredients
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 pound sweet Italian turkey sausage
2 red bell peppers, sliced
2 yellow onions, sliced
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 cup chopped fresh basil leaves- I used dried basil
4 garlic cloves, chopped
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 cup Marsala wine- I used Beef Broth
1 (15-ounce) can diced tomatoes
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, optional
4 to 6 fresh Italian sandwich rolls, optional
Mozzarella Cheese on each sandwich

Directions

Heat the oil in a heavy large skillet over medium heat. Add the sausages and cook until brown on both sides, about 7 to 10 minutes. Remove from the pan and drain.
Keeping the pan over medium heat, add the peppers, onions, salt, and pepper and cook until golden brown, about 5 minutes. Add the oregano, basil, and garlic and cook 2 more minutes.
Add the tomato paste and stir. Add the Marsala wine, tomatoes, and chili flakes, if using. Stir to combine, scraping the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon to release all the browned bits. Bring to a simmer.
Cut the sausages into 4 to 6 pieces each, about 1-inch cubes. Add the sausage back to the pan and stir to combine. Cook until the sauce has thickened, about 20 minutes.
Serve in bowls. Or, if serving as a sandwich, split the rolls in half lengthwise. Hollow out the bread from the bottom side of each roll, being careful not to puncture the crust. Fill the bottom half of the roll with sausage mixture. Top and serve sandwiches immediately.

Recipe courtesy of Giada De Laurentiis

 

3 thoughts on “Sausage Peppers and Onions Sandwich

  1. I can do this but would improvise to make it Paleo-friendly. I dry most of my own herbs, make my own turkey sausage (or some other homemade substitute), Irish cheese (from grassfed sources), and my own bread (Paleo people don’t use grains – we use nut flours instead). In summer I raise my own vegetables, but in winter I buy organic and fresh where I can find them. My version of this sandwich might not be quite the same but I bet the flavor is along the same lines! I can’t wait to try this tasty-sounding recipe! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t believe you do all of that!! That is so amazing!! I would have loved to use fresh herbs but since I live in such a small community our local grocery store doesn’t carry fresh herbs 😦 However, I grew fresh basil and oregano last year and I loved it! I’m sure no matter how you tweek it, it will taste great!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These sandwiches look so hearty and delicious Brittany!! Good weekend dinner this time of year! And I laughed when you said you were thinking about dinner during lunch– I totally get that! What’s you’re favorite show on the Food Channel?? We like Next Food Network Star when it rolls around every year! Fun to find your 2 new posts– I’d been checking in and waiting to hear from you again! Take care blog-friend. xox

    Like

Leave a Reply

